2023: Declare Your Interest In Politics, Nwoye Tells Igbo Politicians
Chairman of Enugu State Caretaker Committee APC.
Dr Ben Nwoye.

Against the backdrop of the clamour for a Nigerian president of Igbo extraction in 2023, Chairman of Enugu State Caretaker Committee of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Dr. Ben Nwoye, has asked politicians in the region with ambition for the exalted office, to come out of their comfort zone and  start  indicating interest, as no one can be president by mere  wishful thinking.

He said it is only when someone with such ambition makes it public and begin to match words with action that people will take such individual serious.

The Chairman frowned at a situation where virtually all those who are nursing the presidential ambition in South East zone  are  doing so in their respective comfort zones 

Nwoye, was reacting Tuesday to a recent online opinion poll which favoured a Chieftain of APC and renowned philanthropist from Enugu State, Emperor Baywood Chris Ibeh, as the best for the presidential position.

Ugama news reports that the mock election was conducted by a group Championing the 2023 Igbo presidential project, operating under the platform of  APC South East Integrity Group, led by Chief Dr. Chinedu Ogbuagu.

READ ALSO ENUGU SPORT club Commissions its brand new Olympic  Standard Swimming Pool.

The group has been soliciting  support for a Nigerian president of Igbo extraction ahead of 2023, across various segments of Nigeria.

The result of the mock election in which 89 members of the group were said to have voted, Emperor Baywood Ibeh, emerged victorious with 29 Votes, ahead of other South East political leaders who have presidential ambition

According to the result released  by the group, other scores as follows:  Nigeria’s Minister of State for education, Dr. Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, 18 Votes,  Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu 14, Ex- Governor of Anambra State,  Mr. Peter Obi 10, former governor of Enugu State,  Barrister Sullivan Chime 7, Ex- Senate President, Chief Ken Nnamani 3,  Senator  Rochas Anayo Okorocha 3, Senator  Orji Ụzọ Kalu 2,  Ebonyi State Governor, Engr. Dave Nweze Umahi 1, and one Francis Nomeh 1.

They claimed that other shortlisted Igbo politicians, such as Hon. Chike Okafor, Nigeria’s Minister of foreign Affair’s, Mr.  Geoffrey Onyeama, Sharon Ikeazor, Sen Julius Ucha and Sen Osita Izunaso, among others, had zero vote.

 Nwoye, however,  congratulated  Ibeh on his victory, saying  he is “a very capable and eminent Nigerian qualified enough to steer  the ship of the country.

The Enugu APC boss, added that the business mogul has distinguished himself in a number of ways and is someone we can vouch for.

According to Nwoye, “while I congratulate Emperor Baywood Ibeh on his victory, I must tell the others that they are all winners. Ndigbo are united to achieve a common goal in 2023, so there is no loser.

He stressed that the people of the Southeast must demonstrate seriousness in ruling this country by 2023.

“Nobody will be in the comfort of his room and they will come and deliver Presidency to him, you must have to make a move.

He said: “I have said it before that I’m yet to see any Igbo man declare for that coveted position.

“Things don’t work that way, they must step out and make declarations.

“From that point you now begin to reach out to other regions, individuals and organizations.

“You cannot get the presidency by merely having wishful thinking on social media, our people must take courageous step.

He also applauded the group for carrying out the mock poll, saying it will go a long way in gingering those still relaxing in their comfort zone, bit wants to be president.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.