Bye-elections: 151 candidates to contest in Lagos, Bayelsa, others Dec 5

About 151 candidates will contest in bye-elections in 11 states on December 5, the Independent National Electoral Commission has said.

A breakdown of the candidates in the pending bye-elections indicated that while Bayelsa Central Senatorial District has 11 candidates, Bayelsa West Senatorial District has 13.

Others are Nganzai and Bayo constituencies in Borno State ( 14); Dass State Constituency in Bauchi (10); Cross River North Senatorial District (9); Obudu Constituency in Cross River (6);and Isu-Uzo State Constituency in Enugu (9).

Others are Imo North Senatorial District (14); Bakori State Constituency in Katsina State (13); Ibaji State Constituency in Kogi State (8); Lagos East Senatorial District (12); Kosofe II Constituency in Lagos State (8); Plateau South Senatorial District (10) and Bakura State Constituency in Zamfara State (14).

INEC National Commissioner and Chairman (Information and Voter Education Committee), Festus Okoye, in a statement issued after its meeting which held in Abuja on Friday, said all the 15 pending bye-elections would be conducted on Saturday, December 5, 2020.

READ ALSO UN fund appoints NAPTIP DG as board chair

The commission also appealed for the cooperation of voters and stakeholders in the states with pending bye-elections in its efforts to deliver credible elections under a safe environment.

The bye-elections in the federal and state legislative houses were due to the resignation or death of members in eight states of the federation.

INEC had scheduled the bye-elections for October 31 but postponed them on account of insecurity and other environmental challenges in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.