The Imo House of Assembly has confirmed the four commissioner-nominees whose names were sent to it by Gov. Hope Uzodimma.

The Governor had, on March 16, sent the names of the nominees to the assembly for confirmation.

The commissioner nominees include Dr Doris Uzoka-Anike, Dr Bartholomew Okorochukwu, Prof. Boniface Nwogu and Mr Uche Ohia.

Following the development, the Assembly on Wednesday confirmed the nominees, after the consideration of the report of the ad-hoc screening committee.

The ad-hoc committee, chaired by Mr Johnson Duru (APC-Ideato South), in its report, said the nominees were qualified and should be confirmed.

Ugama Tv reports that the lawmakers also expressed satisfaction with the qualifications of the commissioner-designates.

Speaking, Mr Eddy Obinna (APC-Aboh Mbaise) described the nominees as “thorough professionals who would help move the state forward”.

Similarly, Kennedy Ibeh (APC-Obowo) said the nominees are seasoned technocrats, with good grasps of their areas of expertise.

The Speaker, Mr Paul Emeziem (APC-Onuimo), also ruled in favour of the confirmation, as recommended by the screening committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.