Rivers: Don’t Borrow Without Approval, Gov. Wike Warns Council Chairmen

Governor Nyesom Wike has told newly sworn-in chairmen of the 23 Local Government Areas of Rivers State to seek clearance from the state government before approaching any financial institution to borrow money.

He gave the warning shortly after the elected chairmen of the 23 Local Government Areas of the State took their oath of office at the Banquet Hall of Government House, Port Harcourt on Thursday.

According to Governor Wike, the caution has become necessary in order to stem unguarded desire of some council chairman to access money without any development plan.

“Don’t go and borrow money without the state government approval. Some of you tried it last time and started with your blackmail, saying help us, we are finished. You have no authority to go and borrow money. Even we as State government, before we go and borrow money we get approval from the Debt Management Office. No bank will even give us.meetings for proper briefings.


Speaking further, Governor Wike warned them against embarking on needless travel outside of the state and the country without notifying the state government.

He also encouraged them to work to strengthen the unity of the party in their various councils, consult widely with the leaders over appointments, and on other issues that will give everybody a sense of belonging.

Wike frowned at the worsening sanitary conditions particularly in Obio-Akpor, Port Harcourt city, Eleme, Oyigbo Local Government Areas, and charged the council chairmen to work assiduously to regularly evaluate refuse dumped on major roads in their councils.

The State governor revealed that the state government prevented the former chairmen whose tenure ended on Wednesday from paying local government workers salary due to security report and complains by some councilors and political appointees that they will not be paid what was due them

The newly sworn-in chairmen are: Daniel E. O. Dnaiel ( Abua-Odual), Benjamin I. Eke (Ahoada East), Hope O. Ikiriko (Ahoada West) Rowland Sekibo (Akuku-Toru), Awortu Erastus (Andoni), and Onengiyeofori George (Asari-Toru).

Others are: Irimagha David (Bonny), Michael J. Williams (Degema), Obarilormate Ollor (Eleme), Dr. Lloyd Chidi J.( Emohua), Obinna Anyanwu (Etche), Deko Confidence (Gokana), Nwanosike Samuel (Ikwerre).

Bariere Thomas (Khana), Ariolu C. George (Obio-Akpor), Nemieboka Vincent (Ogu/Bolo), Akuro Tobin (Okrika), Nwaiwu Chisorom (Omuma), Vincent Job (Onelga), Enyiada Cookey Gam (Opobo/Nkoro) Nwaogu Akara (Oyigbo), Ihunda Allwell (Phalga) And Mbakpone Okpe (Tai) also took their oath of office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.